Mississippi Income Taxes and MS State Tax Forms 2014

Mississippi Tax Refund Calculator

Where is my Mississippi State Tax Refund?

Where is my Federal Tax Refund?

How to file a Mississippi Tax Extension

How to file a Mississippi Tax Amendment

Prepare and efile Your Mississippi Tax Return

The TaxFilingAdvise.com tax software makes it easy for you to efile your state tax return and use the correct state tax forms. Prepare and efile your Mississippi state tax return (resident, nonresident, or part-year resident) and Federal tax return together or separately at TaxFilingAdvise.com.

Tax Filing Online

Mississippi Income Tax Filing Deadline

The regular deadline to file a Mississippi state income tax return is April 15.

Tax Deadline Date Type of Income Tax Return Filing Deadline / Due Date Description
April 15, 2015 2014 Mississippi State Tax Return Due date for Mississippi State Income Tax Returns – income tax filing deadline
April 15, 2015 2014 Mississippi State Tax Extension Due date for Mississippi extensions
October 15, 2015 2014 Mississippi State Tax Return Last day to efile a 2014 Mississippi State Income Tax Return for tax extension filers and late efilers

View all state tax return filing deadlines.

Find federal income tax return filing deadlines.

Mississippi State Tax Forms that Can Be efiled

TaxFilingAdvise.com supports all of the forms that Mississippi allows to be efiled. You can efile any of the following Mississippi state tax forms:

Form/Schedule Description
Form 71-661 Installment Agreement
Form 80-105 Resident Individual Income Tax Return (Pages 1 and 2)
Form 80-108 Schedules A and B (Page 1)
Form 80-108  Other Income/Loss and Supplemental Income (Page 2)
Form 80-160 Credit for Tax Paid Another State
Form 80-205 Non-Resident/Part-Year Individual Income Tax Return (Pages 1 and 2)
Form 80-315 Reforestation Tax Credit
Form 80-320 Interest on Underpayment of Estimate [Interest and Penalty Worksheet]
Form 80-340 Reservation Indian Income Exclusion

Mississippi State Tax Forms that Cannot Be efiled

 

Form Description
Form 89-350 Mississippi Employee’s Withholding Exemption Certificate

 

MS Tax Extension

Extension Form Mississippi Extension Instructions
Form 80-180 If you need more time to file your Mississippi return and you owe any tax payments, you may qualify for an automatic 6-month extension to file your MS state tax return if:

  • you received an extension of time to file your federal income tax return (you will need to attach a copy of your federal extension form, Form 4868, with your MS state tax return when you file) OR
  • You filed MS state extension Form 80-180, Six Month Extension Request.

You must include your entire check or money order with either extension form by April 15. Your new MS state tax return deadline will be October 15. Otherwise, you will owe interest and penalty from April 15, to date of payment. The interest rate is 1 percent (1%) per month and the penalty rate is ½ of 1 percent (.5%) per month or part of a month from April 15, until the date the final payment is received. Late payment penalty will accrue to a maximum of 25 percent (25%). Late payment penalty and interest apply to any unpaid tax after April 15.

The penalty imposed for failure to file a return is 5% per month not to exceed 25% in the aggregate. The penalty imposed for failure to file is based on the additional amount of tax due. Such failure to file a return penalty shall not be less than $100.

If payment is not due, you do not need to file a form to get a MS state tax return extension. When you file your MS state return, do not include the MS state extension form or any other extension form to the return.

 

Past Year Forms: Tax Year 2013 Mississippi Tax Forms (Print, Fill Out, and Mail)
Form 71-661 Installment Agreement
Form 80-105 Resident Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-160 Tax Credit for Income Tax Paid to One or More Other States
Form 80-205 Non-Resident or Part-Year Individual Income Tax Return
Form 80-315 Reforestation Tax Credit
Form 80-320 Interest or Underestimate of Individual Income Tax
Form 80-340 Affidavit In Support Of Reservation Indian Income Exclusion From Mississippi State Income Taxes

Where’s My Refund? – Check Your Mississippi State Tax Refund Status

If you efiled your MS tax return, you should expect your refund to be issued within 14 business days. Contact your online tax preparer if your return was efiled more than 7 days ago please allow an additional 15 days before you attempt any further communication with the Department of Revenue.

If you file your return on paper,  it may take 8-10 weeks from the date the return was received to be processed. After your return has been processed and accepted, you can contact the Mississippi Tax Commission for information about your state tax refund.

Check your Mississippi refund tax return status online.

Tax Filing Online


Mississippi Tax Facts

MS Income Tax:

Individual income is taxed across three tax brackets.

The tax brackets for single taxpayers are:

  • 3% for the first $5,000 of taxable income
  • 4% for taxable incomes between $5,001 and $10,000
  • 5% for taxable incomes $10,001 and above

Married couples filing a combined return (for both spouses working, for example) can choose to have each spouse calculate his or her own tax liability separately, and then add the results.

MS Sales Tax:

Mississippi has a retail sales and use tax rate of 7%. Some jurisdictions collect additional economic development and tourism taxes.

MS Sales Tax Holiday:

Mississippi has one annual sales tax holiday, which usually occur on the last weekend of July (midnight Friday through midnight Saturday). During these holidays, certain items are exempt from Mississippi sales tax. However, the MS consumer will only receive the tax exemption if a specific total spending limit is met.

Refer to the chart below for all Mississippi sales tax holidays for 2014. We will update this chart once the dates become available.

Sales Tax Holiday Dates Sales Tax Holiday Items Included
July, 2014
  • Clothing & footwear: less than $100

Note: Items that don’t qualify for the sales tax holiday include accessories (jewelry, wallets, handbags, backpacks, watches, backpacks, etc), items worn for recreational or athletic activity (cleats), school supplies, and computers.

MS Personal Property Tax:

Taxable personal property is divided into 5 classes and is assessed at a percentage of its true value, for assessment purposes for ad valorem taxes:

  • Class I: Single-family owner-occupied, residential real property (10%)
  • Class II:  All other real property (15%)
  • Class III: Personal property (15%)
  • Class IV:  Public service property assessed by the county or state (30%)
  • Class V: Motor vehicles (30%)

 Tax Filing Online